I quit social media a few years ago.

I am the only person of my generation that I know who is not addicted to the phone.

After a lot of thought, I decided to go back on. I devised some personal rules to help keep it a positive in my life rather than a negative.

1. Only use social media mindfully, and with purpose. This means, no mindless scrolling while waiting for the bus.

2. I shall never mention a brand name. I would never want to be confused with a wannabe influencer, spouting homemade capitalist witchcraft.

3. I refuse to participate in the hate. This means, no nasty comments (even if they deserve it). Use social media to compliment the heroines and heroes rather than bash the villains.

4. I pledge not to post photos of my children online, until they are old enough to consent to it.